Honors & Innovation, April 2014

The New Faces of Engineering-College Edition, a program of DiscoverE (formerly known as the National Engineers Week Foundation) and its partners, announced the 2014 winners today. Funding for the program is provided by NCEES (National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying). The College Edition program recognizes the accomplishments of 3rd, 4th and 5th year engineering students by highlighting their academic successes and student contributions to the industry and participating engineering society. Students must be affiliated with one of the engineering associations listed here.

There were 15 winners selected for 2014, six of them are Tau Beta Pi members, and two will be initiated this month (April). They are:

1. Andrew J. DeCheck – (TX D 2014) petroleum engineering, nominated by the Society of Petroleum Engineers
2. Vivianna Gamez Molina – (AZ G 2014) environmental engineering & TBP chapter president, nominated by the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers
3. Sara A. Lilard – (CA M 2014) aerospace engineering & TBP chapter president, nominated by the Society of Women Engineers
4. Erin C. Miller – (PA B 2014) architectural engineering, nominated by ASHRAE
5. Michael A. Pruszinske – (IA A 2015) computer engineering, nominated by IEEE (USA)
6. Steve Xiaoyi Zhang – (CA E 2015) computer science & engineering, nominated by the Chinese Institute of Engineers
7. Trang Luong – (FL G 2015) civil & environmental engineering & TBP April initiate, nominated by ASCE
8. Max Wallace – (FL A 2016) agricultural & biological engineering & TBP April initiate, nominated by ASABE


Earlier this year, DiscoverE also announced the 2014 New Faces of Engineering honorees. This year’s class included 13 “emerging young professionals innovating solutions in energy, technology, water resources, national security and the environment.” The program was underwritten by anchor sponsor TE Connectivity and four of those selected are Tau Bates. They are: (Read the press release for the full list.)

Christopher K. Agrawal – (DC G ’05) Patent attorney at Bookoff McAndrews PLLC, nominated by SME Education Foundation.
Julia B. (Bower) Green, P.E. – (AL A ’05) Strategy engineer at Southern Company nominated by American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Amy K. Jones – (MO B ’07) Product engineer at John Deere nominated by Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Felicia M. Knox – (CA M ’10) Engineer at SHN Consulting Engineers & Geologists, Inc. nominated by National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE)


The Ohio Manufacturing Institute (OMI) recently announced the re-appointment of Glenn S. Daehn, Ph.D. (IL G ’83), as director of OMI. Dr. Daehn is a professor of engineering at Ohio State University and served as OMI’s founding director. “He currently has leadership roles in several of Ohio State initiatives and programs related to manufacturing technology development, application, and ecosystem advancement.” Read the news announcement for more information



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: