Distinguished Engineers

IEEE has named Irwin M. Jacobs, Ph.D. (NY D ’56), as the 2013 IEEE Medal of Honor recipient. Jacobs is receiving IEEE’s highest award “for leadership and fundamental contributions to digital to digital communications and wireless technology. He oversaw Qualcomm’s revolutionary innovations in Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA), a technology fundamental to today’s 3G mobile wireless standards.”

Dr. Jacobs will be recognized June 29, 2013, at the IEEE Honors Ceremony. Read the news release


The Anderson Independent Mail (SC) recently published an article about Dennis M. Wiese, MI Z ’68, and the developing future of electric cars. Wiese was an engineer at General Motors for 30 years and spent time “trying to improve mileage while also trying to diminish the toxic emissions” in gasoline-powered vehicles.

Today, he is working with PlugInCarolina to help popularize electric vehicles. Click here to read the article


John C. Chen, Ph.D. (PA A ’56), is the inaugural winner of the World Scientific Award in Boiling and Condensing Heat Transfer. He was presented with his award at the Eighth International Conference on Boiling and Condensation Heat Transfer in Switzerland. Read the news announcement

Dr. Chen is professor emeritus at Lehigh University. He was cited “for lifetime contributions to the fundamental understanding of boiling and condensing phenomenon, and for his ability to translate that understanding into better engineering practice.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: